the adventures of yoshi

…on having asian parents

Posted in Food for Thought by yoshi on July 23, 2009

i gotta make this a short one… actually all my blurbs will be a bit shorter because i have this damn cast on:
Photo 83

anyway, back to topic. my parents are trying to force me to promise them i won’t ride bikes ever again… EVER.

now why do asian parents, but feel free to correct me if i’m wrong about it just being asian parents, have to go to the major extremes when it comes to shit like this? why can’t i just hear something like, “when you decide to ride again, just please promise you’ll be more careful and wear a helmet?”

see? easy peasy. i can live with that.

but oh nooooooooooo! my dad has to pull my bf aside and ask him to promise him that 1. we would keep our apt clean hehe and 2. that he would not let me ride bikes anymore.

WTF.

i mean, if i got in a car accident, would they tell me not to drive anymore? if i got hit, crossing the street while walking, would they tell me not to walk anymore? NO.

so whats the difference between those and riding my bike? i understand where they are coming from. they are my parents. they love me. however, these comes a time when they just need to accept what happened and let me live. no use cradling me to death.

anyway, my arm is tired i can’t type anymore.

care to share any arguments (on my side)?

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hann Sern said, on July 24, 2009 at 11:29 AM

    A month and a half ago, when I was hit my the car whilst riding. My mom made me swear not to ride again after learning I’d fracture my collarbone. 3 weeks later, I wiped the dust of the chainring at 6:30am, turned on my rear blinkers and rode on my own. Upon my return, she stood at the doorway, not fuming or restless, just a knowing stare. She managed a shrug, gave me a nod and went about her business. Asians will be Asians. Parents will be parents. But it’ll come time where they will know it’s time to let go. Mine took 3 weeks. Yours will come in time.

  2. the12thletter said, on July 24, 2009 at 1:11 PM

    uhhh yeah, i got into a car accident this weekend and my mom was like, “i’m taking away your driver’s liscence.”

    riiiight. i’m 25 years old ma.

  3. the12thletter said, on July 24, 2009 at 1:11 PM

    uhhh yeah, i got into a car accident this weekend and my mom was like, “i’m taking away your driver’s liscence.”

    riiiight. i’m 25 years old ma.

    glad to see you’re healing well.

  4. doowaditty said, on July 24, 2009 at 1:37 PM

    dude. they’re parents. lol. and as much as i wanna be on ur side (‘cuz if i loved doing sumthn as much as u love riding ur bike, i wudn’t stop even after an accident) i used to get overprotective with my DOG when he’s run too close to the corners of tables. WTF they’re dogs lol. so yah i’m pretty sure if i was ur mom i’d make u wear head to to leathers (like the one for MOTORCYCLE riders lmao).

    • yoshi said, on July 24, 2009 at 11:44 PM

      helmet i can do. yes mom, i promise. but no bike? its a part of my life just as much as your car or your dog is a part of your life… i think i’ll start wearing a hockey helmet with the full grill in front…

  5. doowaditty said, on July 24, 2009 at 1:40 PM

    oops i meant when *he’d run too close and actually HE was a SHE so i really meant SHE’D. gah. im just gonna step away from the computer now.

  6. Tupac's Wifey said, on July 24, 2009 at 9:38 PM

    Yoshi!!! If you saw your childs face all fizucccked up, arm all in a cast, eye closed shut, scabbed up, laying in a bed helpless, what would you do????? As a mom myself I guess you will never understand till you have your own. Till then be careful ad be thankful your parents (asian or not) give a damn. Get well soon.

    • yoshi said, on July 24, 2009 at 11:43 PM

      lol… that;s why i mentioned that yes, “i understand where they are coming from. they are my parents. they love me. however, these comes a time when they just need to accept what happened and let me live…”
      however, my relationship with my parents stems deeper than just this incident. i was raised in a VERY VERY VERYYYYY STRICT household. no boyfriends. no phone after 8pm. bed by 930pm (and i mean no tv, lights off, bedtime). no sleepovers. no going to parties past 1030pm. even after i turned 21 up until i moved at 23, i had to be home by exactly 2am, no later. i couldn’t even watch movies with my own cousins if it meant i’d be home after curfew.
      i understand that, as parents, you would give your life for your child to be safe, but you cannot shelter them from harm no matter how hard you try. you can teach them the best morals and show them the path to righteousness, but ultimately it will always come down to their decision, and as parents, you can only hope you raised them well enough to make the right choice.
      i don’t have to be a mother to understand. i am a mother to my cousins i helped raise, i am a mother to my older sister, i am a mother to my own mother, i am a mother to my friends.
      i’ve been through many many mannnny journeys with my mom, but i know she’ll always hold the same firm grip over my life until i have grandchildren of my own. but only once do i wish she can accept me for who i am, flaws and all…
      sorry, that might have been more than a reply, but just know, i AM THANKFUL FOR MY PARENTS because they have sacrificed much more than i could ever think possible for my sister and me, but if you grew up the way i did, perhaps you would understand a little bit more the intent of this post.
      thank you so much for passing by and commenting

      • Tupac's Wifey said, on July 27, 2009 at 7:32 PM

        Hey Yosh!

        Thanks for commenting on my comment. I feel so honored :/ But I am going to have to say I disagree. Yes you can be a motherly figure in someone’s life ( I too have two younger sisters), but you will never know a TRUE mothers love till you carry something inside you for 9 months and raise/take care of them for the rest of his/her life. Also, it was cool hearing your mini stories on growing up in an asian household. I myself am half mexican and filipina and my dad was a K9 Cop, so I understand about the whole ASIAN parent thing (I couldn’t even smoke a blunt and come home ! ) Great blog and I will be passing through often.

        Love-TUPAC’s WIFEY http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNcloTmvTeA

  7. Raaachem said, on July 25, 2009 at 12:47 AM

    1. being a daughter to the most overprotective mother on the planet, i FEEL YOU. was asked to never go rollerskating again cuz i broke my arm, asked to never go to a carnival or fair cuz i fainted at one once (cuz i’M ANEMIC, HELLO). so asian parents fret over everything.

    2. being a mother myself, i fret over everything too. lmao.

  8. missDTM said, on July 27, 2009 at 11:10 AM

    i’m not asian, but my puerto-rican father and dominican mother would definitely tell me the same thing. but in their spanish accents….”mira nena, por favor, stop riding that bike of yours…” and then they would ask me if i am happy with my bf and when we’re getting married.

    lordyyyy.

    good luck recovering! be careful with that arm you took out of that cast…

  9. TYJK said, on August 14, 2009 at 10:50 PM

    Um…hell yes. My mom said the exact same thing to me.

    “Can you just not ride bikes anymore? It makes me nervous and scared. You can’t be riding around in the city, it’s too dangerous.”

    Meh!

    xx


Leave a Reply

