the adventures of yoshi

…on having short hair

Posted in Food for Thought, Hair by yoshi on August 12, 2009

i came across a great article in ELLE the other day, as i waited for my plastic surgeon to see me, and i found myself nodding my head and saying “FUCK YEA!” (in my head of course).

the article was about a woman who cut her long hair super short and how it not only changed her physical appearance (duh) but how it changed her own views of society and how society viewed her. she and her boyfriend even broke up not long after she chopped the locks!

she mentions:

The good news is, what I lost in perceived attractiveness and good health among most men, I more than made up for in admiration among women and the style set. And frankly, at this point, when I was doing everything I could to transition, professionally, out of the defense industry and into the world of fashion, to have a gay man in a perfectly tailored Thom Browne jacket matter- of-factly say, β€œChic hair, girl,” meant far more to me than even the most charming come-on.

this hit SO CLOSE to home because i’ve been known to change up the ‘do on more than one occassion – going from long to short to even shorter!

i am thankful that the bf still loved me even after i went from this:
1492458146_l

to this (after he returned from a month long skateboarding tour in japan hehe):
l_8b738314b9ae8aca8a9be38bd876053c

now the first time i EVER cut my hair was in high school circa 2000. i went from long 15 inches of hair to pixie.

why?!

because i was fed up with guys only focusing on the length of my hair rather than my personality or even my face. at 17 i felt like i was challenging the norm and testing the TRUTH behind male ambition. the change definitely strengthened my character which is why i think i was able to get far in an industry dominated by men.

ANYWAY – enough feminism for one day. this is the photo from the ELLE article. can i go platinum and cut it like this???? please!!!!
Short-Hairstyles-Do-Haircuts-Affect-Your-Love-Life_articleimage

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Raaachem said, on August 12, 2009 at 6:33 PM

    cut YES!!!!!!

    fuck the norm. and fuck a hater. luhh u. =)

  2. PinkCandles said, on August 12, 2009 at 10:27 PM

    hi yoshi! i read your other blog, WTForks (I think it’s awesome)….and wandered over to this one.

    i liked this post on your short hair. loved your ‘do after you first cut it. so cute!that was pretty gutsy of you to do that! most people think that girls with ultra short hair are lesbians…there’s so many stereotypes out there.

    i used to have long hair – i grew it out after high school (in the 80’s, my hair was an asymetrical cut w/spikes on one side)…so in the late 80’s/90’s it was down to my waist. it was a pain in the ass to fix and maintain…in 05 i slowly started to cut it short. down to a shag (kinda like chryssie hynde of the pretenders), then to a joan jett-like mullet…i think i look a lot younger now with shorter hair.

    last year i lost ALL of my hair due to chemo treatments. yeah, that sucked ass. being bald was a bit traumatic for me. i even had 3 different wigs to wear. my hair just started growing back in late nov of last year. i never knew how much my hair meant to me until i lost it, but i figured, ‘hair is hair…it will grow back’. people who didn’t know about my situation just thought i had a really really short pixie. my hair is long enough now for me to flat iron the back. i’m growing out my mullet again.

    not a lot of people can pull off short hair. my face is small, i’m relatively tall (for a Filipina, 5’5″) – i never had more compliments on my hair until this year. i’m just happy the shit is growing back.

    sorry to ramble here, but your post just struck a chord in me…i’m loving my short hair now and am contemplating on keeping it short (well, maybe grow out the back – mullet!).

    • yoshi said, on August 13, 2009 at 10:07 PM

      aaaaah!!! thank you first of all for checking out my blog and of course my other blog over at wtforks!

      me gutsy??? YOU’RE the one with the strength having to go through chemo and losing all your hair!

      bowing down now

      c’mon if kstew can rock a mullet – so can you!

      xoxo

  3. denise said, on August 13, 2009 at 1:41 AM

    YES CUT IT DO IT DO EVERYTHING WHO CARES I WANNA SEE CANT WAIT GONNA BE AWESOME OKAY BYE

  4. gorillaintheroom said, on August 13, 2009 at 11:23 AM

    this goes with my theory that chicks with short hair are the feisty ones. also reminds me of those america’s next top model episodes where they cut their hair and ALL the girls cry? always thought they were stupid to ignore the fact that being on the show was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and that those are professionals telling them to cut it. they look 1000 times better with it short and they STILL cry about it. anyway, i’m glad to see Elle do an article on this. i cut my hair short last year and more guys started holerin’ — little did they know i was preggers baha! COMPLETELY felt different about it since then. thanks for the post!

    • yoshi said, on August 13, 2009 at 10:08 PM

      bahahahaha – YES! whenever i watched those episodes i was like – WTF?! it WILL grow back! talk about VEIN and too self conscious about how the world perceives them – FTW! =P

  5. JayneTard said, on August 13, 2009 at 9:51 PM

    dude you could BIC just the top of your head and still look fly.

    LOOK AT YOUR FACE. gorgeous duh.

  6. missDTM said, on August 14, 2009 at 7:08 PM

    i read this article this morning and it prompted a long convo with the bf about long vs. short hair.

    i’m currently growing mine out because i haven’t had long hair in a while…but i might go SHORT when it’s time to chop it off…

  7. […] HAIR POSTS: …on being a hair freak …on having short hair hair blast from the past Tagged with: i am not my hair, india arie hair, pink hair, short hair […]

  8. ashton said, on October 29, 2009 at 4:20 PM

    found your blog on accident but read it when i got here and thought i’d give my 2c.
    i went comando too, buzzed my locks off in march…for the second time too πŸ™‚ went from midback kinky curls to baldy. loved it. i wear it short now. but don’t plan on growing it out again for a while. nice blog btw…toodles.

    peace&<3,
    ashton.

  9. STOP IT RIGHT NOW said, on January 27, 2011 at 5:57 PM

    um yeah that’s because you have gamine face. i did the shaved head thing in HS and i looked like a 12 year old cambodian boy. girls like you and winona ryder with tiny faces and big eyes and big lips can shave their head and still look gorgeous. it’s not a knock on my face or boohoo im ugly, it’s just the reality that certain face types are more masculine and can’t support those cuts. i’m hoping the bob won’t be toooo bad though, maybe it will even make me look younger (fingers crosssssssed). but the man has a bargaining chip. i won’t let him cut his rat tail so he’s threatening me with that :/

    • yoshi said, on January 27, 2011 at 5:59 PM

      duuuuuude without all the make-up i look like the kid from the last emperor!! you have a nice face shape, just gotta wear more make-up (i know sounds horrible) but that’s the only trick with uber short hair lol


Leave a Reply

