the adventures of yoshi

…on testing my limits

Posted in Food for Thought by yoshi on November 22, 2009

i’m not talking patience or anything like that, no no, not this time.

i’m talking something more tangible…

folks, i NEED to stop shopping!!!! i know i know, it should be easy right? WRONG! the odds are against me:

  1. i live in one of the most fashionable cities in the world
  2. i work in g’damn SOHO and topshop is literally a hop and a skip from my office
  3. there’s a freakn MODELING agency right next door
  4. my google reader is full of fashion related blogs
  5. i’m an online shopping addict that scores on online sales
  6. i can’t get away from the web because i WORK in web
  7. i was born to love pretty, shiny, and mostly black things.

i’m constantly tackling my shopping demons with my girls at my side either telling me “O.M.GEEEE you MUST have that!” or if you’re on the good guy’s side, “nah, you can probably find something cheaper at h&m or forever…” – but you never really hear: “you don’t need to buy that at all.”

so now that i’ve spent the day on shop nasty gal, uo, and forever… having purchased multiple items from each site, i now sit here thinking about how i can overcome this madness.

i figure with the following steps i’ll be able to stop spending my money and start saving up for the “future,” whatever THAT may hold:

  • stop reading fashion blogs (for now… so sorry to all my fav bloggers, i’ll visit you in a few months lol)
  • stop looking at online shopping sites and emails (unless its a REALLY good sale???)
  • remind myself that i am running out of room in my closet
  • as my homegirl louie said, “i will be FIERCE looking bummy” – WORD UP.
  • test my creativity by recycling the garments i already have and come up with some pretty interesting outfits. lol – oh boy – apologies in advance for future outfit posts.
  • lastly, i think i’ll need all of YOUR support in helping me (and some of my friends) get through this non-shopping dry spell. words of wisdom anyone?

wish me luck! it starts NOW.

oh wait! please note: i will NEVER everrrrrr sacrifice a good meal, so let’s just get that straight, a sista still needs to eat damnit!

Tagged with:

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nichole said, on November 23, 2009 at 12:11 AM

    Well comfort yourself knowing that even if you are looking “bummish” you’re in good RPattz and Kstew company 😉

  2. Connie said, on November 23, 2009 at 12:19 AM

    I’m broke, so that kinda helps me from not shopping so much…
    After I “fiend” over a product for so long, I get over it eventually (with a few exceptions of course!)
    Occasionally, I walk the streets wishing I had that piece of clothing, or pair of shoes so I can look flyer than the chick next to me, but God knows she ain’t paying attention.

    Btw, if your office needs an intern, I’d love to fill in that spot ;D
    I pretty much live in SoHo!;O
    And I work at Hollister D; definitely not my style… but money’s money y’know

  3. emma said, on November 23, 2009 at 11:20 AM

    mission… IMPOSSIBLE! 😀 sorry buddy!

  4. missdtm said, on November 23, 2009 at 7:31 PM

    UGHHH i have to do the same! with the holidays coming up AND having to pay off a vacation before feb. 15th, shopping and drinking has just gone out the window for me. it’s sad. but i’m just waiting for that last payment to get sent it on my vacation because anything after that is going towards new stuff for vacation!

    good luck….i’m sure you’ll get through it just fine.

  5. outfit post… « the adventures of yoshi said, on November 27, 2009 at 11:00 AM

    […] *shopping update: i’ve only bought food so far and its been 3 days since i’ve gone shopping for clothes and shoes! Tagged with: harem pant zara, military blazer, military jacket […]

  6. outfit post… « the adventures of yoshi said, on November 30, 2009 at 8:23 PM

    […] wear for the winter. i found this really comfy polka dot studded sweater for $40 (this was BEFORE my shopping strike). i liked it because it looked like something i could wear all the […]

  7. […] GAVE IN TO MY SHOPPING STRIKE […]

  8. Honor said, on December 15, 2009 at 12:36 AM

    Well, let me begin by saying this is the second time I have come across your blog and this post basically summed up my life..
    and lookin through your blog aint helpin me get passed my shopping addiction either 🙂
    A week ago I basically wrote myself a list of things that “I dont need anymore of:”
    1. Shoes, 2. Jeans, 3. Dresses, 4. Sunglasses, 5. Skirts.. what did I buy today?
    1 pair of Sam Edelman Zoe boots at Urban.. 1 pair of jeans at h&m
    and a few other items that I didn’t include in my list..
    I’ll tell ya this.. I feel ya sister
    Shopping is the fix for the fashion addicted


Leave a Reply

