the adventures of yoshi

on starting a new job…

Posted in Food for Thought by yoshi on November 20, 2010

I started my new job earlier this week at the infamous advertising agency, Ogilvy & Mather (if you are unfamiliar with this agency, just think: Mad Men). I survived their orientation day (barely) and I’m happy to report that I’ve completed my first full week of work as one of Ogilvy’s interactive digital producers – a new breed at the agency if you will =P.

Starting a new job is always interesting, especially coming in as an entirely new “entity,” its almost like the first day of school again. Questions start running through your head like: What do I wear? What if they don’t like me? Should I be energetic? Should I not be tooooo energetic? Where will I sit? WHO will I sit next to? Where will I have lunch? WHO will I have lunch with? WHAT will I eat? (answer: SHAKE SHACK duh!) Etc. Etc. You get the point.

I like to go into the new playground with an open mind, no expectations, just take everything as they come. I’m the type of person who plays out every kind of situation in my head to mentally prepare myself for the unexpected… however, the unexpected always presents itself with a huge smile on its face as we all know lol.

The main objective is to walk in with confidence, not too much or they’ll think you’re a snob. Just remember, the company offered you the position for a reason, THEY want you there and they believe in what you can contribute to their company values, their craftmanship, their family.

So walk in proudly and be ready to work on some amazing shit that you can own and say, “Yea, I made that happen.”

Go gettum Tiger!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rae said, on November 20, 2010 at 10:50 PM

    Congrats on making it through the week. I needed those last inspiring words, started a new position at work and been feeling defeated but that “pep talk” helped! Let’s go!
    Xo Rae (http://tresladies85.blogspot.com)

    • yoshi said, on November 21, 2010 at 2:10 AM

      good luck rae!!!! i know you’ll knock it out – just gotta get your rhythm back =)


Leave a Reply

