the adventures of yoshi

adventures in redecorating: PART 1…

Posted in Interior Design by yoshi on November 21, 2010

After Lauren‘s visit a few weeks ago to my apartment, she went ahead and created a floorplan for the layout of my oddly laid out railroad style apartment. We went back and forth via email to get the exact measurements just right and came out with the below plan:

Once we were settled with the measurements, we talked about my budget and items I may want to keep in or replace in the apartment. I let her know I was looking for the following (with my given range):

  • sofabed/couch
  • wardrobe(s) + dresser(s)
  • storage units (chests, shelving, etc)
  • bed frame
  • TV(s)

Within a few hours, Lauren replied back with the following “recipe” for how she thinks I can functionally and creatively enjoy the space I have with my home! She also took into consideration the current style and taste my boyfriend and I already have, which is perfect since the last thing any of would want is to totally change the feel of what we’ve made our home to be.

*Next step, actually finding the furniture that will suit our needs within my price range! If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment and I will forward onto Lauren who can give her expert advice!

Here are some photos of the current layout of my apartment to give you a better idea of what we’re working with here lol.

ROOM 1: Currently our “Closet Room,” soon to be Living/Entertainment Room

yes, we have a lot of stuff...

ROOM 2: Bedroom

ROOM 3: Currently our Living Room, soon to be “Storage/Library/Study Room”

And this is our kitchen/dining room, I don’t anticipate many changes here…


Again, if you have any questions or are in need of any tips, please leave a comment! =)

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kitty said, on November 21, 2010 at 7:31 PM

    eeek!! i cant wait to see the turnout! =)

  2. doowaditty said, on November 21, 2010 at 7:38 PM

    dude ur spot looks pretty big for ny!

    • yoshi said, on November 21, 2010 at 7:45 PM

      bahahhaha! that’s because i live in bushwick yo! tons of room for less money =D just never knew what to do with it! once its all settled, i’m inviting all you gals to come stay over!

  3. Deaj said, on November 21, 2010 at 10:53 PM

    ooh! I’m extremely excited to see the results! I love projects like this! πŸ™‚

  4. kd said, on November 25, 2010 at 5:05 PM

    This post is absolutely wonderful! (I’m an interior design student…) Can’t wait to see how it turns out. Please keep us posted. And don’t forget about window treatments. Also I think rugs would definitely make the space warmer and break up the “beige box” look of the apt. Or maybe you can paint a room? If your landlord allows it? How exciting!

  5. life update! « the adventures of yoshi said, on December 8, 2010 at 11:36 AM

    […] you can view photos and floorplan of my apartment HERE. […]


Leave a Reply

