the adventures of yoshi

creating my own TWIG TERRARIUM!

Posted in Product Review by yoshi on January 24, 2011

for the past few months i’ve been itching to get myself a twig terrarium after my girl hana was able to create her own. finally, i was able to catch up with the owners, katy and michelle, and was invited to visit their studio to create my own. of course i was totally obsessed and decided to make another one AND even bought two more! lmaooooo!

let’s start with the definition of a terrarium. in short, a terrarium is an enclosed replica of a natural environment, so soil, rocks, greenery, or even sand should be present. with twig terrarium, they prefer to use a variety of moss, pebbels, soil, and to top it off, accent each mini environment with a little figurine (my fav part lol).

i decided to start my twig terrarium-ing with a starter kit (big opening). here are your essential materials, that i will detail below:

step 1: choose your environment, as i mentioned, i went with a jar that had a large opening, big enough to stick my hand in. katy and michelle let me know that many, if not all, of their glassware is made of recycled material.

step 2: grab a few stones and pebbles as your first layer, this is necessary for your terrarium to “breath” and allow filtration.

step 3: dip some of the earthy stuff (a mix of dirt, soil, moss) into some water and squeeze it out like a sponge. this helps keeps your terrarium moist. layer it on and pad it down on top of the rocks like you’re trying to flatten some dough.

step 4: on top of the moist earthy stuff, you’ll need to lay down some dry soil to set the grounds for your new mini forest =)

step 5: now you’re ready to put some greenery and scenery to your terrarium. they gave me two different kinds of moss to play with and you can literally tear and take them apart to your liking, add a few more pebbles to give more landscape!

step 6: add your miniature figurine! i chose this lady who had a camera around her neck. we glued a pin to her foot and poked the earth before setting her in et voila!

i also ended up making a larger terrarium and used a prisoner as my figure hahahahhaa – so fun!

katy and michelle were a HOOT – we were rocking out to some metal, 80’s/90’s tunes, even broadway bahahaha! i couldn’t help but browse around at their other terrariums (PS. in the time it took me to make these two, both of them made 3-4… EACH).

sidenote: they told me that we’ll be able to see their terrariums in the upcoming BREAKING DAWN film (alice’s bedroom) GAH!

i ended up purchasing two more already made terrariums, one for $30 the other for $45 (very affordable if i do say so myself!).

love that this one is in a vintage bayer bottle! this was $30

and this one i loved because of the hand painted sign hehehehehe – i bought this for $45

their prices range from $25 – $125 and up depending on the level of the terrarium. i’m definitely planning on purchasing a lot more for my apt and office hehehehehe!

THANK YOU KATY AND MICHELLE!

VISIT TWIG TERRARIUM HERE AND TELL THEM I SENT YA!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Deaj said, on January 24, 2011 at 7:10 PM

    I love this! I remember when you posted this a while ago and it looked so interesting. This just makes me more likely to buy one, haha

  2. denise said, on January 25, 2011 at 9:58 AM

    GOD i want a kit like that, its so hard in HK to find all the individual things (except for the jar)..guhhh been wanting to make one for so long ):

  3. kelly said, on January 26, 2011 at 10:08 PM

    how long does it last?

  4. mayk said, on January 30, 2011 at 5:11 PM

    I want one!!!
    link is broken!

  5. […] you TOO can create your own Twig Terrarium! hopefully better than mine […]

  6. Julesy B said, on May 9, 2011 at 9:09 AM

    Where do the figurines come from, I love them!

  7. Deborah cuthbert said, on August 26, 2011 at 2:52 PM

    Hi I’m looking for someone to make me a terrarium let me know thanks deborah cuthbert


Leave a Reply

