the adventures of yoshi

…on having the most amazing friends – who are clueless

Posted in Food for Thought by yoshi on February 6, 2011

i’ve said it time and time again. i’m surrounded by amazing and talented friends. some of whom don’t even REALIZE how awesome they are.

i have groups of friends, as we all do, some of whom are well on their way of conquering their dreams and reaching early retirement, some who have taken the dive into the unknown to pursue what they love, and some who are still trying to figure shit out.

its the last group of individuals that drive me absolutely crazy! these friends of mine have a hard time looking at themselves and seeing how insanely talented, smart, and nauseatingly beautiful they are. i worry about them, i worry that they’ll never leave the small bubble they’ve been sucked into. i worry that they’ll end up taking the safe road and never realizing how high their reach can grasp. i urge them to try new things, to meet new people, to find inner motivation, but i think the problem really lies in their environment and dare i say it, the people they surround themselves with.

to be quite frank, if it weren’t for me graduating from a school where i practically didn’t know anyone, in turn making new friends with people who, as it turned out, shared the same drive as me (to conquer the world lol), or travelling around the world and living abroad before finishing school, i would have never had the balls to pack up and leave my life behind to head to new york.

if i had stayed in the bay area, this is what my life would look like: working a miserable job, living in the burs probably married with a kid or two (NOT that this would be a bad thing), wondering what my life COULD have been, reading blogs and envying the lives of others, hanging out with the same people everyday, at the same place, telling the same jokes – since high school… yes, this would be my life.

so, to those friends of mine still trying to figure shit out. STOP THINKING and start DOING. you’ll never know what the future holds if you never take that first step.

take a leap of faith and hopefully you’ll land feet first and knees bent.

i believe in you…

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nikki said, on February 6, 2011 at 2:15 PM

    Hi Yoshi

    This post made me cry! I have been THAT friend to my friends who took the leap to NY, I was told about how much potential of mine I am not using and how much more successful I could be over there! Speaking on the other end, it is not easy to realize your potential..but once you go to hell and survive, your confidence is endless. On that note, I am taking that leap and will be in NY by the end of the year. I don’t know what I’ll do there, but that’s half of the plan in testing my limits. Thanks for giving me confidence and something to look forward to when I head over there…I hope I can make all the friends I have like you out there proud!

    • yoshi said, on February 6, 2011 at 6:01 PM

      new york isn’t for the faint of heart, so this is the perfect place to test your limits, don’t let anyone tell you you can’t do anything =)

  2. Lizzy said, on February 6, 2011 at 3:12 PM

    I don’t remember how I stumbled upon your blog, but I stop by periodically. This post in particular spoke to me because I am that friend who doesn’t know what they want to do. I certainly do more thinking than doing, and nothing gets done sadly. Stepping outside of my comfort zone is definitely an issue I’m battling. I tell myself all the time I just need to try new things,experiences, ignoring my preconceived notions, but I get in my own way. This post is definitely what I needed to hear or rather read right now. Thanks!

    • yoshi said, on February 6, 2011 at 6:00 PM

      awww thanks for the comment lizzy, just wait, one day you’re just going to snap out of the funk and be well on your way =) i’m sure of it

  3. andrea nina said, on February 6, 2011 at 3:46 PM

    PREACH

  4. Cheryl said, on February 7, 2011 at 1:08 AM

    I’ve been following your blog for a while now and I really enjoy reading your posts. I have to say thank you for this particular one because it really hits home. Thanks again for sharing and for all of your inspiration!

    P.S. Girl you really got it going on!

  5. doowaditty said, on February 7, 2011 at 11:47 AM

    no people I AM THAT FRIEND. lmao. no, really. hahahahaha. no, i mean seriously. or at least one of them. love you bitch. and don’t worry, i got a chapter in that book just for you. i’ll make sure to provide lots of pictures too, so start collecting your fave ones of yourself now lol.

  6. krisyee said, on February 8, 2011 at 11:40 PM

    oye. that’s me.


Leave a Reply

