the adventures of yoshi

on tumblr vs. twitter…

Posted in Food for Thought by yoshi on May 10, 2011

just a quick post because i was having a convo about this earlier with a friend and i know, i haven’t been updating lately – just a lot going on.

anywho, i prefer twitter over tumblr. i only use tumblr for my work portfolio. i understand the ease of it, but i call tumblr the “lazy blog” because you’re just regurgitating other people’s posts. and you can’t even comment on any of the “notes!” wth?

twitter at least, has your own voice. unless you’re just one of those RT’ers…

that’s it.

the end.

what do you prefer?

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mike said, on May 10, 2011 at 4:00 PM

    just link your twitter to your tumblr, instagram, facebook and whatever else you’re into and you’re good.

  2. Deaj said, on May 10, 2011 at 4:50 PM

    I like both…I really think that they both serve their own purpose, kind of like the way wordpress/blogger are supposed to be used for blogging! I almost feel like tumblr is an extended version of twitter…

  3. Maggie said, on May 10, 2011 at 11:15 PM

    lol I like both but I favor tumblr over twitter because it generates more inspiration for me. (or maybe I’m just not following the right people) lol but I really admire the creativity and thought other people put into their work on tumblr.

    • yoshi said, on May 18, 2011 at 9:27 AM

      that’s true – some really do have awesome tumblr’s but idk… i need more content to view! maybe I’M not following the right ones! lol

  4. andrea nina said, on May 13, 2011 at 8:56 PM

    man, i have struggled with this for awhile because now that i have a tumblr, i find myself blogging less – but the same can be blamed for twitter as well. like you, i’ve been using tumblr as an “inspiration log,” mainly posting/re-blogging photos or songs that inspire me because, you’re right, tumblr is just a lazy, retarded version of blogging (if you even want to call it blogging). it’s more of a micro-blog (tumblr)/update feed (twitter) only with images and music.

    with all the outlets we have now, it’s hard to keep up with all, but they all definitely help with networking and connecting with others. i guess the hardest part is just finding a definite medium and balance between all of them, while still keeping true to being a blogger.

    • yoshi said, on May 18, 2011 at 9:26 AM

      yea… i only like tumblr when the people who own it actually POST stuff that they have input on vs just “re-blogging” a pic or a line… its like, ok… you’re just making a scrap book then?

  5. 9thprophet said, on July 25, 2011 at 11:29 PM

    For me.. I don’t mind both.. I didn’t know how i felt about blogging or voicing my opinion so i started with a twitter.. enjoyed that.. still have it. Then i kinda wanted to start blogging so first is started with tumblr.. which is easy.. you can voice your opinion, post funny pics, vids. reblog things your friends haven’t seen, Then eventually i said F it.. let me get a word-press and thats my mini timeline. I like them both.. Though unfortunately nice i’ve neglected my tumblr it might be going away soon..


Leave a Reply

