the adventures of yoshi

in other work related news…

Posted in Uncategorized by yoshi on July 17, 2011

I’m in the midst of 2 major online campaigns at work right now and I’m very excited to share once they’ve launched. I think I’ve finally found my groove after a few months. Its funny going from a small digital workshop over to a larger, more traditional ad agency.

I miss producing big scale, fully interactive, sites for our clients. However, I do not miss the long hours it brought lol. Now, I’m able to go home at a decent hour, work on a bit more simplistic concepts and smaller scale builds, but in my opinion, it really puts everything into perspective as far as advertisement is concerned. Plus, with my knowledge of what can and can’t be done, we’ve been working much more closely with the creative teams to guide them in a better direction to produce more interesting and engaging pieces! (tooting my horn here) lmao

You see, I never went to school for advertisement, hell, I was on my way to working for the UN or the World Bank when I got my degree in political science. When I fell into the world of digital/online media, it was a natural transition for me because 1) I’m all about online media; 2) my brain thinks in logical, rational form (years and years of writing theses and arguments will do that to you).

At my job now, I’m able to be a part of a campaign right from the beginning and see its transformation to when it hits the public eye. Its a very satisfying experience if you ask me. When I see something online or on TV – I can truly say I was a part of that =)

Recently I’ve been meeting people from all over the world who also work in advertising, and I feel like I’m beginning to really see myself pursuing this career for the long run (as you know, I’ve always been back and forth contemplating on my career path lol).

Just wanted to share this random thought… more to come later this week as I continue to pick the brains of a few more peers – quite an exciting venture for me so far!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. andrea nina said, on July 18, 2011 at 12:39 AM

    i can’t wait until i feel that same satisfaction you feel about your career. congrats!

    • yoshi said, on July 18, 2011 at 7:10 PM

      we’ll see how i feel in a year bahahhaha

  2. Ben@JWT said, on July 18, 2011 at 7:07 PM

    I work at JWT in SF. Glad to see we’re part of the same WPP team. Woop wooppp

    • yoshi said, on July 18, 2011 at 7:09 PM

      oh snap! someone’s getting paid lol!


Leave a Reply

