the adventures of yoshi

#nyfw… on being a fashion blogger

Posted in Fashion, Food for Thought by yoshi on February 15, 2010

i’m trying to stay away from all these tweets, runway shows, and events this time around… i’ve already got enough on my plate and like kerin said: “sensory overload.”

plus, what’s up with all this “fashion blogger” identity crisis shit?

i don’t really consider myself a fashion blogger because i will be the first to admit that i don’t know enough about fashion, all i know is that if i like what i see… well DOPE, good shit – i’m not about to obsess over the latest shit you know? yea, ok, i post “outfit posts” – WHATEVA – i know i got some style and i want people to comment on my shit, what’s wrong with that? lmao – vanity wha?.

i DO consider myself a blogger however. i’ve been blogging since 2004? but i write about everything! life, work, skateboarding, streetwear, design, culture, traveling, biking, blah blah blah – oh and FOOD.

call me old fashioned, but i feel the sense of blogging has lost its way to “how can i blog and get paid for the shit i write about?” which then turns into “send me promo if you want my readers to know about your product… SPONSOR ME!” WTF?! to the point where some individuals go as far as to call themselves “tastemakers” – yuck. what part of “send me free shit” or “sponsor me” is tasteful?? plus, you shouldn’t really call YOURSELF a tastemaker… ew – where’s the humility in that?!

am i being a hypocrite? probably. i can’t deny that sometimes i receive the occasional package here and there… but its only from people i’ve known and worked with for YEARS – not some random promo from like, ed hardy (sorry, couldn’t think of anything else lol). plus, i’ve been working in the industry for so long, i don’t even consider it promo, its more like a gift from my friends =) i choose whether or not to blog shit, if i don’t like it, you won’t see it, if i like it – well then cheers to that!

also, i don’t agree with a lot of the hoopla nowadays, like all this media attention to these so called “fashion bloggers.” whatever, let them be, who cares that they have the time to sit at home rent free and write about all the collections, models, designers they love because they don’t have to worry about earning a steady income since mommy and daddy probably pays their way anyway… i guess print editors are jealous because they have to work in an office and do this for a living and get paid to attend fashion shows and interview top designers – “oh woe is me!” – both parties just need to get over themselves, really, its not that serious.

i remember when blogging was such a nerdy thing to do, i was made fun of for having a blog – no lie! “omg yosh, are these pics gonna be on your BLOG?! noooo!” and then i would shyly retreat my camera back into my pocket… those were the good ole days… now its like “sure you can take my picture, no wait, i don’t like that pic, can you take another one?? do you have a card or something where i can see them posted?” WHOA! really?!? so now i have to restock on my business cards and print more stickers… lol – not such a bad thing, but damn, really?

i guess this post is going all over the place… again.

to all my blogger friends, my REAL FRIENDS: chico, wendy, vern, lawn, betsey, rach, abi, shanny…et all, as i mentioned in my oh so emo email… i’m SO GLAD we were all friends before we started “blogging” – so folks, if you ever see us tweeting/posting about us all hanging out together, its not because its a get-together of “blogGIRLS,” but its because we are truly great friends IRL (which, by the way, does NOT mean ireland teeheheheheh – thanks betsey) and we enjoy the company of each other and have amazing random conversations… not to mention – we eat good and there will always be the likelihood of drunken karaoke.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wendy said, on February 15, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    YOU GO GIRL!!! Agreed, it’s hard to trust blogs now because everyone receives so many free things. What do you love and what are you writing about so people will continue sending you real shit?!

  2. sandy said, on February 15, 2010 at 1:24 PM

    im a tastemaker

  3. ashley said, on February 15, 2010 at 2:21 PM

    this is so on point. ❤ your blog keep doing your thangg 🙂

  4. Jazz said, on February 15, 2010 at 2:23 PM

    Your integrity is in check, that’s why I trust your opinion as a reader. I completely agree that some of these bloggers are turning street culture into a parody of what it once was, hence making it easy for corporations like HBO to parody the culture as a whole. I guess, like everything else, we have to take the good with the bad.

  5. Kenny Bogata said, on February 15, 2010 at 5:28 PM

    I concur!

  6. Jimmy! said, on February 15, 2010 at 5:55 PM

    I usually read these but there were a lot of words here so I gathered what I could based on your chosen bolded words: You’re a tastemaker bloggirl who likes food and whoa real friends blog yourself, whateva

  7. CHICO said, on February 16, 2010 at 9:26 AM

    Man, I honestly don’t really care about ny fashion week anymore as much as other people do. I’m kinda happy I’m out of the country during it, haha. But damnit.. Twitter is non stop talking about it.

    Does having a Xanga back in the day count as blogging? I can’t even look back on my posts without feeling embarassed.

    Anyway, i feel you on this whole post. =)
    Meet up when I get back! xo

  8. denise said, on February 16, 2010 at 12:19 PM

    lol if having a xanga counts as blogging too then dangggggggg ive been blogging since i was like 14 lol. my xanga’s still online too but..dont think i’ll disclose the address hahaha also think i’ve privatised most of the posts already hahaha

    anyway yessssssssssssssssssssss this post was on point. and lol sorry i never responded to that email, i thought i did then it got lost in my sea of emails -.-

    buttttttttttttttttt LOVE YOU JESS SO HAPPY WE ARE BUDDIESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS 😀

  9. Kay said, on February 16, 2010 at 12:43 PM

    OMG I totally agree with you on this, I like blogging and such, i`ve been doing it since GAWD 15? haha yes I used to be called a nerd too for doing it and now look everyone has one…. I cant lie, getting free stuff is cool but it’s better when you WORK for it? Make sense?lol.

    I don’t consider your blog a fashion blog… its a YOSHI blog and I love it….

    I also find it funny when people want to hang out or try to get featured on my blog.. like really I am no one special lmao.

    But keep doing yo thang giiirl and I love the fact we met because of Twilight… aint no shame! bwahaha.

    xo

    P.S.- we needs to eat togetha! Lets get a group of ppl and go see Remember me =p

  10. JK said, on February 16, 2010 at 4:01 PM

    Gotta agree with you here.
    Won’t mention any specific blogs, but this whole blogging thing and the attention has been getting to their heads. It’s not logical to call somebody a tastemaker just because they can name every obscure brand and spew out the history of a brand, or that they can buy all the “it” clothes and accessories just b/c it was featured in every fashion site/blogs already and their parents can afford to buy it for them when they can’t put together a decent or original looking outfit to save their lives. I’ve been working in the fashion industry for a few years now, and it’s getting me more and more jaded as the years go by. Dealing with people who THINK they know everything about fashion and are fashionistas due to the sole fact that they’re part of the industry. People who think they’re SOMEBODY when they’re really not (or maybe it’s just the fact that I’m in LA). Something that started off as a passion is now making me want to make a drastic career change.
    Going off tangent…. your blog makes me laugh.

    • yoshi said, on February 16, 2010 at 4:04 PM

      hahahaha – i’m glad my blog makes you laugh!!! =D
      yea i had to leave the fashion industry too, it just became too ridiculous really… now i’m back in web and taking a side seat to the whole industry shit… i still enjoy it, but its just not the same anymore…
      thanks for commenting!

  11. Raaachem said, on February 17, 2010 at 10:51 PM

    ok. longest conversation about this already. and really, the ONLY blog that mattered to me was um, TWILIGHT? straight nerd status but whatevs. lol. yay for being friends and yay for being able to write, too. and honestly, i thought tastemaker had to do with food? no?

    • yoshi said, on February 17, 2010 at 11:50 PM

      OMGGGGAAAH THAT’S WHAT YOU THOUGHT IT MEANT!?!! LMAO!

  12. THE DIVINITUS said, on February 20, 2010 at 1:36 AM

    lol.
    always gotta invent some new marketing tools 😉

  13. […] post about being a fashion blogger got me, and I have to say, I COMPLETELY agree. I work at Ladylike as […]

  14. Jessica said, on February 20, 2010 at 10:23 PM

    I can totally relate to a certain extent. I’ve been blogging since the 4th grade (’99), and I’ve had multiple accounts. Starting with xanga, livejournal, and blogger. I used to make webpages for fun but I lost my touch. I was that girl that spent hours on weekend nights on photoshop to complete the look of my blog until it’s the way I like it. I was the girl that helped friends with their xanga and myspace layouts. I still blog, but basically about my life.. pretty much an online journal to the public. When I read up on your blog, I think of it as a more personal blog. Even though my friends have always thought of me as a square for blogging, but it’s always nice to know that they tell me they check to see how I’m doing by reading my blog. I like blogs with word content and personal notions, that is why I stray away from Tumblr.. I don’t like the idea of “reblogging” someone else’s thoughts. Honestly, Tumblr can suck it. Blogging needs to start being personal again.

    • yoshi said, on February 20, 2010 at 11:25 PM

      lol – if we’re counting xanga and/or friendster “blogging” than damn, i’ve been blogging for more than 10 years!!! my adventures blog is definitely a more personal blog, but this is the newest of mine… i technically started off with homeroom then fatlace then riottt then adventures and now ladylike =) – and i agree, blogging needs to be more personal again…

  15. rachel_tran@hotmail.co.uk said, on February 23, 2010 at 6:34 PM

    as the hood kids in london would say “TRRRUUEE SSTTTOOORRIIIEEESS” ahaha! so real! and ermmm…please if you recieve anything from Ed Nasty, please send it back. Please. 🙂


Leave a comment